Department of Emergency Medicine
School of Medicine Queen's University


Our faculty is dedicated to providing specialist Emergency Medicine care in our facilities and to providing the best possible learning environment for our residents. The faculty of the Department includes 35 full and part time physicians. As well as being a particularly stable group with an average experience in excess of fifteen years, our physician blend has created a healthy balance academically, clinically and educationally. The Departmental Head is Dr. David Messenger and the FRCP Residency Director is Dr. Jaelyn Caudle.  Dr. Joseph Newbigging is the CCFP-EM Program Director.

Our faculty and this program have played a prominent role in the evolution of the discipline of Emergency Medicine in Canada. Through the leadership of Dr. Gene Dagnone and Dr. David Walker throughout the 1970's and early 80's, Emergency Medicine in Canada was ultimately recognized as a new Royal College specialty.

Our faculty have a major commitment within the School of Medicine at Queen's University to undergraduate and postgraduate medical education. We have an active and ongoing role in the education of all health professionals, including the paramedic and nursing programs of the greater Kingston Region.